| /


UPDATE 04/25/2024: 1 Ultra-Deluxe Signed & Lettered Traycased Hardcover I AM GATEWAY Edition Now Available On This Page! Letter 'U' In Stock and Shipping! Bound in black goat leather, signed by all contributors, lettered 'U', includes a handwritten scroll, housed in a premium I AM THE ABYSS traycase, limited to 10 lettered copies worldwide. 

I AM THE ABYSS is an anthology of personal afterlife fiction containing nine original novellas of horror and dark fantasy accompanied by nine original paintings. Authors Michael Marshall Smith, Nicole Cushing, Reggie Oliver, Steve Rasnic Tem, John R. Little, Jeffrey Thomas, Greg F. Gifune, Douglas Wynne and William Meikle give us windows into the personal afterlives of unique individuals trapped in self-created worlds.

Featuring a 16"x8" painting by Les Edwards preceding each story as a full bleed two-page spread, I AM THE ABYSS is printed in a unique 8"x8" trim size and contains over 400 pages of original fiction. 


Samsara by Greg F. Gifune

Crimes and Ashes by Nicole Cushing

Torn by Steve Rasnic Tem

Blacktop by William Meikle

Faith by John R. Little

Acheron by Jeffrey Thomas

The Bardo of Becoming by Douglas Wynne

The Final Stage by Reggie Oliver

The Burning Woods by Michael Marshall Smith


  • Signed by authors Greg F. Gifune, Nicole Cushing, Steve Rasnic Tem, William Meikle, John R. Little, Jeffrey Thomas, Douglas Wynne, Reggie Oliver and Michael Marshall Smith, artist Les Edwards, artist Menton3 and editor Chris Morey
  • Limited to 300 signed and hand-numbered copies worldwide
  • Printed offset on premium acid-free paper with Smyth sewn case binding for maximum durability/longevity
  • Color illustrated end sheets
  • Unique 8"x8" trim size
  • Bound in black leather
  • Black-dyed page edges
  • Black satin book ribbon
  • Color wraparound dust jacket
  • Housed in a black slipcase
  • One-time printing only
  • Includes early ebook download immediately after purchase

Product Information: Available in-stock and for preorder in the following formats: Ebook (AVAILABLE NOW, ISBN: 978-1-62641-261-3), Trade Paperback (SHIPPING NOW, ISBN: 978-1-62641-262-0, First Printing) and YOUR HEART IS BLACK deluxe signed slipcased hardcover (ISBN: 978-1-62641-263-7, One-Time Printing) on DarkRegions.com.